Summoning Sickness

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Summoning Sickness

Post  DarkRequiem on Tue Aug 19, 2008 12:07 am

Many times there are doubts about what a creature that suffers from this malady can and can't do.
So, in first place one needs to ask what is summoning sickness?

"The affliction that makes creatures unable to attack and tap for abilities during the turn in which they come into play (and the following opponent's turn). The term was only officially used for 5th Edition rules, but earlier editions did mention it. This condition has no name now, so most people still use summoning sickness, although it's technically incorrect. Creatures that used to be "unaffected by summoning sickness" now have "haste" instead. It works the same."

From http://stason.org/TULARC/games/magic-the-gathering-rules/04-What-is-summoning-sickness-Magic-The-Gathering-Rule.html

Put this, what can a creature that suffers from summoning sickness can and can't do?

"Here's the condition-formerly-known-as-summoning-sickness summary:
If a permanent
- has not been under its current controller's control since the
beginning of his most recent turn, and
- is currently a creature
Then:
- It may not attack, and
- It may not use activated abilities with the tap symbol in the cost. "

From http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/75868-25-summoning-sickness


With this in mind, a creature can do anything that it wants as long as the action cost's doesn't require it to be tapped.
You want to sacrifice a summoning sickened Mogg Fanatic to deal 1 damage to target creature or player? You can. You want to sacrifice a Sakura-Tribe Elder to search for a land card the turn the snake came into play? You can. You want to tap a Gilt-Leaf Archdruid and six other druids to gain control of all lands target player controls on the same turn you played said Archdruid? You can. You want to pay 2 mana and sacrifice a creature to activate Lyzolda, the Blood Witch's ability? You can.
You want to destroy target creature by tapping Avatar of Woe on the same turn it came into play? You can not.

Hope this clarifies some of the doubts our group had. Me included because I wasn't sure it was at all possible.

_________________
Liberate Tutame Ex Inferis!
avatar
DarkRequiem
Admin

Number of posts : 465
Age : 37
Location : Portugal
Registration date : 2008-07-11

View user profile http://magic4nongeeks.heavenforum.com

Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum